Local Government Self-Assessment Tools (LGSAT)

The Local Government Self-Assessment Tool for Disaster Resilience (LGSAT) provides key questions and measurements against the Ten Essentials for Making Cities Resilient and builds upon the priorities and national indicators of the Hyogo Framework for Action (HFA). Using the Local Government Self-Assessment Tool will help cities and local actors to set baselines, identify gaps and have comparable data across local governments, within the country and globally, to measure advancements over time.

The main purpose of the LGSAT is to:

  • Help local governments engage with different stakeholders to map and understand existing gaps and challenges in disaster risk reduction in their city or locality.
  • Set a baseline and develop status reports for cities and municipalities that have committed to the Making Cities Resilient Campaign and its Ten Essentials.
  • Complement information gathered through the national Hyogo Framework for Action monitoring system (HFA Monitor) by providing local-level information.

Cities can choose to share their results with national HFA focal points as part of the national reporting process.

The online system and template were developed by UNISDR, in consultation with several partners, local and national government representatives. The online version includes local context indicators, presented as ‘key questions,’ each of which shall be assessed on a scale from 1 to 5. Key questions are aligned to the HFA priority areas and core indicators as well as to the Ten Essentials of the Making Cities Resilient. The self-assessment will enrich the national HFA review process and the online profile of local governments participating in the Making Cities Resilient Campaign. The self-assessment is suggested to coincide with the national HFA monitoring cycle, to be undertaken every two years.

Partners Mapping: 
Types of Shock/Stress Mapping: 
Purpose Mapping: 
Scale Mapping: 
Target User Mapping: 
Data Input Mapping: 
Timeline for Application Mapping: